New Year’s resolutions (reprise)

In January I resolved that this would be the year I learned to make decent curry from scratch. I’ve been using three books – Madhur Jaffrey’s Curry Easy, Anun Anjand’s I heart Curry, and Curry by several different writers. And I think it’s safe to say I’ve nailed it.  I’ve also learnt to do the most delicious dhal made of five different pulses, really good pilau rice, and I’ve had a go at parathas too. I need more practice at those, but I’m getting there.

And then in August after I’d been to see the surgeon about my hip and realised that swimming would be my only realistic form of exercise in the future, I resolved to learn front crawl. I started lessons in September and set myself a target of doing 50km by the end of the year. I passed that target a couple of weeks ago and my total distance swum is now 55,735 metres.

I think this is the only time in my life I’ve kept new year resolutions. An excellent year’s progress!

Leave a Reply

