I’m definitely getting fitter

I swam 1650m today (I know that’s a weird total, but it’s a mile and then the length back to the getting out end) in 51m29s and was only in the pool for a few minutes under the hour. I was able to keep swimming without a breather for the first km, stopped for a minute or so then, and then kept going til I’d done the distance I wanted to do. I don’t think my swimming is getting much faster now but I can go for longer before I need a breather and I’m nowhere near as tired at the end of the swim. The first time I did 1km and the first time I did 2km I had to sit on the bench in the changing room for five minutes before I could find the strength in my legs to stand up and get dressed. Maybe tomorrow I’ll try for 2.5km.

Leave a Reply

