Just when you think you’ve seen all the stupidity the world has to offer

http://www.scotsman.com/news/pupils-withdrawn-from-trip-to-edinburgh-mosque-1-2954768

For those who can’t or won’t click the link, this is an article in the Edinburgh Evening News. A group of 52 children from Newtongrange Primary were due to go on a class trip to Edinburgh Central Mosque, but 20 of the children were withdrawn from the trip by their parents. Reasons given by the parents to the paper include

“I don’t agree with sending my child to a mosque to learn about a religion that isn’t my own. It’s the hate that is being preached in these mosques that I don’t want my child mixed up in.”

and

“If you don’t want your kids learning that kind of stuff, then you should be allowed to say ‘no’. Many of my friends are a different religion to me, but they don’t try to ram it down my throat.”

and slightly less swivelly-eyed

“The timing was wrong with people protesting and guys getting killed in the street. If things were a bit calmer I’d have sent him along. I received the letter about this a few weeks ago and had no problem, but at the end of last week other parents began asking whether it was safe.”

 

Oh, and someone from the BNP commented

“I applaud these parents in going against the wave of political correctness.”

Let’s face it, if the BNP are applauding you, you’ve fucked up.

I live quite close to Edinburgh Central Mosque. Every year during the Fringe they open parts of the mosque to the public and serve traditional Arab foods and offer tours of the mosque. I’ve done it, it was reasonably interesting, the Arabic sweets were delicious, nobody preached hate at me and I wasn’t overcome by a desire to wear a burqa and hide a bomb under it for detonation on the no14 bus.

Parents of Nitton-by-the-bing, you should be ashamed of yourselves. You’re teaching your children to hate and fear. Perhaps it’s not the children who need to go to the mosque and learn a bit more about the world – it’s the parents.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Just when you think you’ve seen all the stupidity the world has to offer

  1. I am a parent from nitten by the bing. My son went to the mosque – he was excited about the trip and I thought it was a great idea to help educate our children about the differences between us all and that it isn’t anything to fear. He knew some children weren’t going to the mosque but didn’t know why – he thought it was because their parents wouldn’t pay the £2.50 fee for the trip. He had a lovely time and said that the people at the mosque were really nice. We aren’t all small minded in this village – well done to the school for trying to arrange what should have been an interesting and enjoyable trip for the children

Leave a Reply

