I strongly dislike strawberry tarts

I like pastry, I like cream, I love strawberries. But I do not like strawberry tarts. Mainly I don’t like them because they have horrible shiny goo poured all over them, but also I find that very often the strawberries are tasteless imported ones, the cream is cheap and nasty and the pastry is heavy and tough. But even freshly made ones with perfectly ripe local strawberries are still covered in the horrible shiny goo. So those are the main reasons I don’t like strawberry tarts – they’re nasty, and the horrible shiny goo is very nasty.

The other reason though, is a bit more abstract. I feel that strawberry tarts are lacking some fundamental coherent tartiness. Something about them never feels like they’re a proper tart – they’re just pastry, cream, and a couple of strawberries plonked on top (and then covered with horrible shiny goo). Nothing about them makes me feel that the component parts have been brought together into a new, coherent creation. They’re just disparate things next to each other with no essential tartiness in their being. And always the horrible shiny goo.

2 thoughts on “I strongly dislike strawberry tarts

  1. I agree. I always think a strawberry tart is all style and no content. The goo is just to make it look good but ultimately serves no purpose unless it is a proper flavoured glaze, and then if it is a good strong flavour (which gives it dual purpose of being delicious and looking good), it knocks the flavour out of the strawberries or overwhelms them. They lose their strawberry essence.

    In summary, I feel a fruit tart should promote the tart fruits (pardon the pun) that can take the blander flavour of pastry and cream, and can stand up to a sweet glaze. Redcurrant comes to mind, or even the humble gooseberry. Worcesterberry would be divine, with a spiced mulled glaze – perfect in the autumnal months. Or how about a nice rhubarb and ginger?

    Saying that, can’t remember last time I had a tart. Pastry + fruit for me is all about the mince pie. Open with lattice work or closed to seal in the flavour, I can never go wrong with a mince pie.

  2. The “Pound Bakery” were advertising 2 strawberry tarts for (have a guess?) £1 today. I saw them and thought of you. I bet they heard about your dislike and are trying to tempt you.

Leave a Reply

