The Smell of Bullshit, part 62: even more alternatives to Lush

In posts 44, 54 and 56 I looked at alternatives to Lush, especially alternatives to Dream Cream, which is the only thing I’m struggling to find another option for.

I’ve tried a few handcreams recently, including the Posh Brats Goat Milk, Aloe Vera and Honey Soothing Handcream. It didn’t work well for me. I don’t like the scent, which to me smelled like off milk and detergent, but I did like the texture which was like a very light mousse. It didn’t work well on the dry, sensitive skin on my hands, making them itch and not moisturising well enough. It might work better for someone whose hands are less particular. I like the bath bombs though, and the lip balm is great.

Then I tried the Mountain Balm from The Sugar Loaf Soap Company. I like their lip balms, and their soaps aren’t bad. The Mountain Balm is solid (like a Lush massage bar) and you have to rub it between your hands to warm it up a bit so that the top layer melts and becomes usable. It smell herby. I found it a bit too solid to melt easily so I had to rub quite hard to get a coating. It doesn’t sink in very well, so it was better used overnight under cotton gloves, which was enough for it to soften my hands except for my scabby rough knuckles.

This week, I’ve bought some hand cream from Heather Hills, who are based in Perthshire. I’ve got the Honey Handcream. Don’t ask me how much you get for your £7.50 because the website doesn’t say and neither does the pot. It’s quite a runny cream with a subtle, almost neutral honey scent. It sinks in well and it softens and moisturises without feeling greasy. They don’t give the ingredients on the website and the writing on the pot is so small I can’t read it, so it’s anyone’s guess what’s in it, apart from honey. It’s nice though. I might try their other ones when I’ve finished this.

One thought on “The Smell of Bullshit, part 62: even more alternatives to Lush

Leave a Reply

