Really Crap Service From Nook

In about December 2013 I bought a Nook. I chose a Nook rather than a Kindle for various reasons which are not worth going into here. It has worked fine and I have been very happy with it until the past month.

In the second half of December, I tried to access my Nook library online a few times (on three different browsers on two different computers and a smartphone) but kept getting this error message

nookerrorI assumed it was a glitch at their end which would be resolved soon enough, and put it from my mind.

In the first week of January, I bought quite a few books from the Nook store, partly because of this post and this post. But when I turned my Nook wifi on, only one of the books waiting to be downloaded would download. If I had bought two or more books at once, only one of them would download onto the Nook. The rest just don’t appear. I contacted Nook and and they suggested erasing and reregistering the Nook. It’s a bit of a pain to do, but it worked. But I’ve probably bought a dozen books this month and having to erase and reregister the thing every time is more than a bit of a pain.

Then, the other day, I bought The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wecker. It wouldn’t download. I erased and reregistered the device. It still wouldn’t download. I tried to contact both the Nook Chat and the Chat With a Nook Expert (they connect you to different bits)

nookchat

but both connected me, allowed me to type in my problem, and then immediately disconnected me. Repeatedly. And then at about 1910 on Thursday evening, both chat functions said they were unavailable, although the top one says it’s open till 2100 on weekday evenings and the bottom one says it’s open till 2200. Both have been continuously unavailable to me since Thursday evening.

I sent an email. Nobody replied. I tweeted @nook_uk and they said “We apol that u are still having issues w ur NOOK account. We are working on the issue and hope to have it resolved shortly.” I don’t think they had any idea what the problem was and that was just their standard line. I asked if it was a really complicated problem seeing as it has been going on three weeks now. They told me to erase and reregister the device. I said I’d already done that multiple times. They didn’t answer. So I tried it. And not only did the new book not download, but ten of the books that were already on it wouldn’t re-download. It just says “this book is unavailable for download at this time.” So I have no access to eleven of the books I have paid for. When I told @nook_uk what had happened, their response was “Sorry that it did not work. We hope to have the issue resolved soon. Which device are you using?” I told them which device I’m using, and that’s the last I’ve heard from Nook. No response to my emails, no explanation for why the live chat isn’t working, and no fixing of these problems.

Oh, and I still have no access to my online library so I can’t archive or unarchive books. And Nook don’t seem to give a toss.

I understand that faults develop, glitches happen, things break. But it’s not ok to do nothing about the problem, ignore a customer, ignore emails, ignore tweets, apparently block me from live chat, and then give advice that makes things worse. So, my advice to you is this: if you’re trying to decide between a Nook, a Kindle and a Kobo, don’t get a Nook.

2 thoughts on “Really Crap Service From Nook

  1. I had the same conundrum about showing an eReader, I started ages a go with a Sony and used Waterstone’s own store until they transferred to Kobo at which point I almost went with Kobo but the Kindle just kept getting better reviews even though you are locked into Amazon and the WiFi works on the phone network so you can literally download anywhere there is a phone signal. Over the last 18 months it has been completely reliable and to keep my conscience clear I buy 50% of my books in bookshops.

Leave a Reply

