Another Private Care Agency Lets Us Down (And By Us I Mean the Tax-paying Public)

I refer you to my previous post on this subject.

For the last few years I have been working with a man who has a degenerative neurological condition. He now requires, and has received, a large care package including 2 workers 3x daily for hoisting and personal care, and one worker once a day for meal preparation. This has been provided to him for several years by one private agency. We’ve tweaked the package over the years but it’s stayed relatively stable. The man’s wife died a few weeks ago, after a long illness, and I had arranged to meet the agency at the house next week to see if we needed to make any further changes.

Yesterday morning the agency phoned me to say they had some concerns about their ability to provide the service and that they were planning on withdrawing from it, but said they would maintain the service until we found a replacement agency. We agreed they would visit the client the same day to tell him. at 1630 yesterday, they rang me to say they had decided to give us 12 hours notice that they were terminating their involvement, and that the man’s last visit would be this morning. When I pointed out that contractually they can’t do that, they said they only have to give 12 hours notice if their workers are at risk in the house. I asked what the risks were and the care manager couldn’t answer me – her response was “I’m the care manager and it’s my decision.”

Even worse, when I phoned the client to say “we will do our best to find another agency by tomorrow but it might be impossible”, he told me that they had told him (and his sister, who was present) that they were giving 28 days notice and would hand over once we had a replacement care provider. When he realised I was telling him that wasn’t the case, he was in tears. So I rang his son and asked him to go round, and the son said they had phoned him that afternoon and told him 28 days too.

Lying liars who lie.

Bad enough that they’ve left the man in the shit (literally), but to lie about it to him, to his family, and to me?

So today I phoned 21 different care agencies to see if any of them could take the package on, only to completely and utterly fail. The poor man has gone into a care home tonight, three weeks after losing his wife, and with absolutely no idea when we will be able to get a new care package and get him home.

This is the reality of private agencies providing public services.

Leave a Reply

