I’m making sourdough with my vaginal yeast

This is fascinating – can’t wait to see how the bread turns out

Another angry woman

Content warning: This post discusses food and contains embedded tweets containing misogynistic and disablist language.

I am making sourdough. I started the starter on Saturday afternoon, and it’s reached the point where it smells kind of yeasty, and now it’s looking like this:

IMAG0617

It’s caused quite a lot of visceral horror, because I bunged something a little bit unconventional in the starter: yeast from my vagina. Here’s my recipe, so you know:

Ingredients:

1 small Greek coffee-sized cup of plain flour
1/2 small Greek coffee-sized cup of water
As much vaginal yeast as I could scrape off a dildo I put in my vagina–my estimate is that there was about as much of it as would lightly coat a single tine of a fork, and no more.

Method: 

  • Mix the ingredients together.
  • Cover in foil, leave
  • The next day, “feed” it 1 small Greek coffee-sized cup of flour, 1/2 small Greek…

View original post 1,809 more words

2 thoughts on “I’m making sourdough with my vaginal yeast

  1. Well, it is just yeast and no better or worse than any airborne strain you might acquire for any other sourdough starter sitting on a window sill. I would be quite happy to eat the bread and I “get” the idea of wondering if it could be done however, there is still a bit of a Euww! factor. Not really sure what the point is/was!

  2. Sorry, more: I think the over-reactions partly reflect peoples’ ignorance about biology and science with misogynistic trolling added in because ignorance about science tends to go along with general stupidity and inability to think or see that power is mostly held by men.

Leave a Reply

